< All Topics

Back to All FAQs

What about licensure and certification?

Licensure and certification are the highest forms of regulation. They are designed to protect the public by ensuring that certain minimum competency requirements are met. They also set standards for the profession.

Currently 19 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands offer licensure or certification for naturopathic doctors. The American Association of Naturopathic Physicians maintains a list of states and territories that license or certify naturopathic doctors.

Previous Under what circumstances should I choose to see a naturopathic doctor?
Next What are the accredited naturopathic medical schools?
Table of Contents